Module D: eLearning

After a 1 year leave of absence (maternity leave), I have restarted my Postgraduate Certificate in Academic Practice, and am now undertaking an optional 20 credit module on eLearning: Resource Development and Student Support.  The aim of the module is to ‘design, develop, implement and evaluate an interactive online learning resource’.  I am required to produce a 3 hour online learning resource, write 2,000 words on my project plan, design and implementation, and another 2,000 words evaluating my project, all by Monday 15 June!

I have chosen to create an online learning resource to support the OSCOLA referencing style used by the School of Law.  I currently run a 2 hour OSCOLA referencing workshop once a term, where I have developed the speed referencing learning activity.  However, many students are unable to attend the workshop, either due to timetabling issues or to them being distance learning student, so I have a lot of individual OSCOLA enquiries too.  I have been considering developing online resources (beyond adding my teaching materials to SlideShare) for some time.

There are only 6 face-to-face classes in this module, with a lot of additional learning resources being available online – as we experience online learning as well as design online learning.  We are already at the half way stage (the 3rd class is tomorrow), and I a am still only at the design stage.  Only 12 weeks to go – so I’d better get a move on designing and developing my resource, or there will be nothing to evaluate!

One thought on “Module D: eLearning

Leave a Reply

